Philanthropist Award

The SHRS Philanthropist Award honors an individual or organization whose financial commitment to the school has made a lasting impact on its students, faculty, programs and research. Pitt SHRS would not exist today without the generous charitable support of corporations, foundations, alumni and friends. This award recognizes those who have used philanthropy to further the mission, vision and values of SHRS.
Dr. David H. Perrin (Health Physical Education, PhD '85)

BS – Castleton State College, Physical Education, 1976
MA – Indiana State University, Athletic Training, 1977
PhD – University of Pittsburgh, Health Physical Education, 1985


Dr. David H. Perrin, dean of the College of Health and professor in the Department of Physical Therapy and Athletic Training at the University of Utah (2014 to present), began his path of giving to the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences in 2005 when he spearheaded a multi-donor campaign to establish an endowed Sports Medicine Student Resource Fund. Shortly thereafter, he created the David H. Perrin Student Award for students from the Athletic Training or Sports Medicine programs to aid with expenses associated with their academic program. His dedication to the school and its mission was exemplified further when he went on to make a significant planned gift that demonstrates his philanthropic spirit and enhances his significant track record of support and legacy-building. Perrin also served as a member of the SHRS' Board of Visitors from 2006 to 2014, guiding the school’s future into new territories.


Perrin has received distinguished alumni awards from all of his higher education Alma Maters and, in 2008, was inducted into the University of Pittsburgh Legacy Laureate Society, the highest honor bestowed by the University. In 2009, A.T. Still University’s Arizona School of Health and Sciences awarded him an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters.


He has spent almost 40 years as an educator, clinician and researcher in the field of Sports Medicine and Athletic Training, previously holding the position of provost and executive vice chancellor at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro from 2007 to 2014 and as dean of the School of Health and Human Performance at UNCG from 2001 to 2007. Prior to that, he directed the University of Virginia’s Athletic Training Education program from 1986 to 2001 where he was named the Joe Gieck Professor of Sports Medicine and founded the Sports Medicine and Athletic Training Research Laboratory. While at UVA, he was awarded the All-University Outstanding Teaching Award in 1997 and Curry School of Education Foundation's Outstanding Professor Award in 1998.


Perrin is a fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Academy of Kinesiology and the National Athletic Trainers' Association and Founding board member of the American Kinesiology Association. He is also a former member of the NATA Professional Education Committee, helping to write the guidelines for accreditation of both undergraduate and graduate athletic training education programs. He has earned professional awards from NATA including the Sayers "Bud" Miller Distinguished Educator Award in 1996; the Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award in 1998; the William G. Clancy Jr., MD, Medal for Distinguished Athletic Training Research in 1999; and induction into the Hall of Fame in 2003. In addition to his leadership in education, Perrin has contributed to his field extensively as author and editor of numerous articles and textbooks.